Wednesday Already?

Posted: August 27, 2008 in Uncategorized

I don’t know where the time is going.

I managed to throw together supper for my family last night.  I made a nice roast beef, baked potatoes and mixed vegetables.  It was not exactly the most creative thing I have ever done, but the table sure looked nice.  My Grandmother gave me her silverware for a wedding gift.  It is from the 30’s and is really nice.  She recognized it right away.  We all had a nice dinner, even the hubby, who made it home about 10 minutes before we ate.

We made a decision on which couple to donate our remaining embryos to.  I send an email off last night to the agency and they are going to contact the couple today.  I imagine they will be pretty excited.  We had it narrowed down to them and one other couple, but the woman (other couple) was really pushy.  Every other day she wanted to know if we were going to pick them, and if not, they would start looking for another couple.  She just rubbed me the wrong way.  I mean, I understand where she was coming from…but this was not exactly the easiest decision that we have had to make.  She was younger too.  Like 27 or something and they had adopted a boy from Russia.  The couple we chose is in their late 30’s early 40’s and have no kids.  I think it is only fair to give ones who have no kids the chance.

So that is one less thing on the old plate.

I also got a call last night from the camera place.  My camera has been repaired and is ready to be picked up.  I told the lady that I loved her.  You have no idea how much I missed that camera.  I had nightmares about explaining to the kids why there were no pictures of them for 2 months.  “Well kids, you see, we had this party….and somehow, one of mommy and daddy’s friends had a few beers, and decided to dribble mommy’s camera like a freakin basketball to see if it would bounce!” Ahh, but I will have it back today and be snapping away tons of pics of the kids.

So.  I will have company today.  Yes. That’s right.  Not only do I have to take care of my kids, but also my Grandmother.  All day.  While my parents house hunt.  Oh yeah…and I have to work tonight.   And what time is it right now?  Yeah, before 6 am.  And I’ve been up since 4 am.  This is going to be a great day.  I can just feel it. (please note extreme sarcasm!!!)

 

Oh…I forgot…last night when my father was offering his grace…my very long winded father, the ordained minister…who prays for everything….I was holding Melissa on my lap.  When he got around (finally) to saying “Amen”, Melissa said “Goodbye”.  No lie…we were in stiches.

Comments
  1. Faith says:

    I can’t believe Melissa said Goodbye. That is the coolest. Does she say many other words? Mine don’t say anything yet…DA DA and MA MA but I’m not even 100% that those words mean mommy and daddy to them. I’m excited to hear their first real word.

    It’s sounds like you picked the right person to donate your embryos to. You’ve done such a selfless act that will make another couple so happy. I admire that.

    So you know how you’ve posted about bad mommy moments. Well you are sooo not alone. Matthew fell out of his highchair last week b/c i didn’t have him strapped in (super scary since he fell on tile) and then he cut him upper gums w/ his lower teeth when Daddy pushed him a little to hard on the swing and it bounced. Blood was everywhere. Now at bed each night I’m just so freakin’ grateful that they both made it through the day in one piece.

    Hope your day wasn’t too rough.
    -Faith

  2. silver says:

    What cuties!

    Wow to the donation. What a wonderful thing to do for another couple. Ours our still on ice and I can’t really decide what to do.

    Take care

  3. singletracey says:

    hahaha .. that is cute. Thanks so much for all of your support!!

  4. Helene says:

    I have to laugh about Melissa saying “goodbye”, she was probably thinking “now bring on the food”!

    That’s wonderful that you’ve found a couple to donate your embryos to. I’m sure they will be overjoyed!!!

Leave a Reply

