A week later

Posted: October 25, 2008 in Uncategorized

A week has passed.  A hellish week.  Seems like it was only a moment ago.

A friend stopped by.  The hubby came home.  The hubby thought something physical happened between me and the friend.  The hubby flipped out.  All hell broke loose.

The next day, the friend, well, now former friend I guess (since we are prohibited from any contact) came over to try to talk some sense into the hubby and ended up being handcuffed and the hubby ended up with a black eye.

A week later, the events of last weekend have plummeted me into the depths of a very dark place.  I am medicated.  I am miserable.  I am struggling to carry out even the most basic responsibilities.  The kids aren’t sleeping.  I am not sleeping.  I am beyond drained.

The hubby and I are working on things.  Working on our trust issues.  He can’t understand why I couldn’t / can’t talk to him, but I can talk to other friends.  I can’t begin to explain it.

I almost flipped out at the nurse at the kids’ pediatrician’s office.  We waited and waited to be seen.  Our appointment was at 2:30 and we weren’t seen until 3:15.  We get charged if we are late, but no one charges the doctor if thyerun late.  The kids were finally seen, an apart from their eczema, are doing great.  They got a Hep A, chicken pox and flu shot.  The doctor said we were good until the end of February.  The nurse came in and told us that they needed to come back in a month to booster the flu shot.  I told her to forget it.  No way am I paying another $70 copay to booster the flu shot, wait to be seen, try to keep two kids busy in an office…no freaking way.  So, the nurse left the room to talk to the doctor.  The doctor would rather them get the shot, and if they have the flu vaccine left in February when we return, we can get it then.  Kids screamed bloody murder for their shots.  They decided that they weren’t going to nap yesterday at all.  It was lovely…The only piece of advice the doctor could give us about getting the kids to sleep was to put them in separate rooms and check out the Sleep Lady. I bought her book on ebay last night.  Something has to work, and at this point, I am desperate.

The kids stats are:

Daniel: 32″ tall (95th percentile), 27 lbs, 6 oz (95th percentile)

Melissa: 31 1/2 ” tall (98th percentile), 24 lbs, 13 oz (85th percentile)

We have some BIG babies.

My mother celebrated her 65th birthday on Monday by having surgery on her foot.  I wish I could be there but it is such a long drive.  I can’t wait until she is close by.

I also took the kids out yesterday to go and pay for our new furnace.  We are replacing a 50+ year old soot-spitting beast.  Hopefully, that will help lower our heating costs this winter.  We got all they way up there and I realized I didn’t bring the checkbook.  At least I remembered my debit vi.sa card.

The weather is crappy here today and it is not helping my mood in the least.  I just want to go back to bed and pull the covers up over my head.  I am not even really excited about the World Series, like I should be.  I mean, my team is in the World Series…

It will be another day of laundry and trying to keep the kids entertained.

Comments
  1. pillarr1 says:

    Oh my goodness, a fight? Like you really have the time or energy to fool around? I hope you two can start working through all of these issues.

    It is great that the kids are doing well. I am going to get that book about sleep too. Rachel stayed up for most of the night with an ear infection. She just started waking up at least 7 times per night since late Sept. I can barely make it through the day. I stay pumped up on caffeine. Please post your sleep success story (it will be a success!) to help the rest of us out.

  2. Merideth says:

    Oh Kari, I’m so sorry you are going through all of this. How horrible for you to fight with your husband over jealousy — it is the hardest emotion to fight I think because it is simply not logical.

    Please find a way to be kind to yourself.

    As for the doctor’s office, they make me crazy just sitting there waiting on my own, I’m surprised you didn’t spontaneously combust sitting there with two babies.

    I’ll be thinking of you.

  3. Helen says:

    Oh honey – you are in a tough place. I’m so sorry. I know how unbelievably hard depression and PPD can be, and how you almost literally can’t talk to your spouse about it.

    One day at a time. Tell yourself that. And you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

