Weekend Wrap Up…

Posted: November 10, 2008 in Uncategorized

It was really quiet.  The hubby took the weekend off and we managed to get some much needed yard work done yesterday.  We turned on “Sundays with Sinatra” and it seemed to make the raking and leaf bagging a little easier (I am a HUGE Sinatra fan…FYI).  We also got some junk out of the basement and dragged it to the curb.  When the hubby first bought the house (before we even met), someone dropped off a bunch of furniture on the front porch.  A bed, a dresser and a chest of drawers.  They were old (like 1963 old) but were still useful.  Well, when I moved in, I had a brand new queen sized bed from Ik.ea and the old mattress was relegated to the basement.  We just dragged it out.  The plan is to make part of the basement a man cave (although the hubby will tell you that it will be a “Kari Cave” rather than a man cave.

Saturday, it was really rainy and crappy around here, so we just kind of vegged around the house.

Friday night was kind of neat.  Our next door neighbors (we are really close…more like a family than just neighbors…they watch the dogs for us when we go out of town, they have watched the kids numerous times..they are Uncle M and Aunt C to the kids), had a taco party.  They had quite the spread….tacos, nachos, chili, cheese burger pie, and even rented one of those hot cheese dispensers that you see at movie theaters… C’s parents and M’s brother in law came in from the Midwest.  They had a houseful.  We put the kids in their fuzzy footed pajamas and went over to grab a bite to eat.  It was really good.  We discovered that Melissa likes tortilla chips.  She is only happy when she is feeding herself.

The kids have had a couple of horrible nights as far as sleep goes.  Poor Melissa has a huge “pox” on her side and it looks really nasty.  She also has added a few more to the collection.  I feel so bad for her.  Daniel is working on two new teeth on the bottom.  He is just as sleep deprived as I am and has dark circles under his eyes.

I am still on my meds and have good days and not so good days.  I am sleeping a bit better (when the kids allow it).  The hubby and I are doing a little better.  He is helping more and more with the house and with the kids.  He still has ZERO trust in me.  He always seems suspicious of everything I do.  He still mentions (at least daily) that I was the one who screwed up.  Well, he was the one who was neglectful…so we are equally to blame.  But I didn’t do anything except let a friendship get too close.

So another week dawns.  I don’t have any really grand plans.  I am just taking one day at a time.  Trying to stay sane.

Comments
  1. pillarr1 says:

    Sounds like you are managing everything that is going on in your life. You can only do so much and that is it. It is good that hubby is helping out more. That makes so much of a difference. My husband is helping more too. On one weekend night he is on “monitor duty” with Rachel. I get to sleep all night! Or should I say until I wake up because I am so used to getting up all freakin night. Some nights I do what you do Kari – I play possum so he will get up – ha ha! It is nice that you have neighbors that you are close with and the tacos sound sooooo good. It is funny that you mentioned IKEA – I was just there yesterday. We also ate lunch there (hotdogs, chips, soda) and it was only $3.50. Their food is super cheap. My laptop has to be sent off to be repaired so I may not be commenting regularly until I get it back (I will have to use another unreliable computer). But I will when I can.

  2. Helene says:

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing better!! Your poor babies…doesn’t it seem like when it comes to illness, it never ends?! I hope they feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

