Yawn…..No really….Yawn….

Posted: March 30, 2009 in Life, life with twins
Tags: , , , , , ,

The monsters have been getting up 5, 6, 7 times a night for the last week or so.

Sleep regression? Teething?  Separation anxiety?  I have no flippin’ clue.

They are just not sleeping.  And they are not napping during the day.

I don’t know how they are even functioning.

Today is Daniel’s allergist appointment.  I don’t care what this bozo says, Daniel will get benadryl in his bottle tonight.  I am sure that the lack of antihistamines is part of the insomnia.  He is itchy.  She is itchy.  I am just beyond exhausted.

Screw the gym until I get some sleep.

Oh, and Mom and Dad have some kind of blockage in their sewer pipe.  So, when you flush the toilet, it backs up into the toilet in the basement and floods.  They are waiting for the plumber to arrive.  Ah, the joys of home ownership.

My sincere apologies for the dull post….my brain isn’t working.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Go pass out for a few hours, hun. Hopefully the Doc will get Daniel squared away today and ou all can rest easier.

  2. Helene says:

    Oh no!!! You must be exhausted too, getting up that many times with the kiddos!! I hope you’re all able to get some rest today!

  3. pillarr1 says:

    No sleep! Aye dios mio! I know how you feel. When Rachel is like that (teething) the doc told me to give her either tylenol or motrin right before bedtime. I also give her benadryl. She has such allergy problems that the doc prescribed a medicine called CP Dec-dm ( it is an antihist., decong., and cough syrup). It is in grape flavor in a dropper bottle. It works great. Of course, I don’t give her that with the benadryl. I give her either tylenol or motrin every night for about 1 week if she is teething. I stop for a while and then start back up in a few days to see if it has resolved itself. I also put the oral gel on her gums. It helps a lot but there are still nights when she just won’t sleep. The teething tablets did not seem to work for her so I stopped using them. Don’t you hate when people say “your kids don’t sleep all night, mine did when they were that age.” Just go ahead and smack them!

  4. Amy Warden says:

    Oops! Left that comment on the wrong post… And I’m not even sleep deprived!

  5. I hope you get some sleep soon! I also hope Daniel is OK.

  6. Benadryl + Ibuprofen = One great night at our house!

    One of my twins has a problem with nightmares, especially when he’s teething. One night a few weeks ago he was waking up every hour. They’re getting eye teeth in and I’ve heard they are the worst. Also, if I notice he’s getting into a pattern of waking up at a certain time, the dr told me to wake him up BEFORE that time, give him a drink of water, and put him right back to bed. We did that for a few days or a week and it solved our problem…at least until the next teething episodes.

  7. cat says:

    Oh I feel for you girl! We just had a weel of sick kids and it was exhausting. If you can get some homeopathic Rescue remedy, give that a try. Good luck! We hired our nanny one night last week just in order to have one night’s sleep.

  8. Kirsten says:

    Ugh. Sorry about that. I hope the appointment at with the allergist gave you some answers. You SO deserve about a week’s worth of straight sleep!!!!

  9. pillarr1 says:

    I took Rachel to the doc yesterday and she said to give her 1/2 teaspoon of children’s zyrtec in the morning and do the prescribed medication or benadryl at night. The zyrtec is helping with the allergies. I still give her tylenol or motrin for the teething plus the orajel at night before bed.

Leave a Reply

