Are you sure it’s spring?

Posted: April 8, 2009 in daniel and melissa, Life, life with twins, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So, it is like 40 degrees here and the hubby had to wipe snow off the car this morning when he went to work.  Ummmm….global warming….I don’t think so.

The kids were only up once in the night (thank you GOD!) and stayed in bed until almost 7 this morning.  But, since I stayed up to watch Rescue Me, I don’t fell particularly rested.  It’s my own fault, I know.

My sister and BIL are supposed to be coming down for Easter from Massachusetts but ow my nephew had been diagnosed with strep.  He is on anti-biotic but the hubby is concerned that everyone is going to end up sick, and the last thing we need is to have two sick babies….and a sick mommy and daddy to boot.  We will see if they still decide to make the trek down here.

So, is your family celebrating Passover / Easter?  What is on the menu?  So far, we are having ham, garlic smashed potatoes, green bean casserole, corn and asparagus.  Mom is making her famous chocolate pie, and I may attempt to make arctic orange pie.  I found the recipe and my dad is a huge fan of any citrus.  Mom is also making friend cornmeal mush.  We love mush.  It is a high holy day tradition in our family.  If you have never tried it, you are missing out.  I personally do the butter and confectioner’s sugar on top, but some people do syrup.

I did go to the gym yesterday.  I had a pretty good workout.  I am not going this morning because I just don’t have the energy.  I will go tomorrow and try to do the every other day thing.  I think the idea of going every day is just too much for me and the kids.  Poor Daniel.  He was in the daycare room and another little boy (older but the same size as our tank) came in with his own ball.  Well, what does Daniel do? Yup, grabbed the ball and ran with it.  He is so my son!!!  The poor kid lost it.  So, I went and got Daniel another ball to play with but the kid was traumatized by my little man.

After the gym ( I had to rescue my parents from the wal.mart parking lot because they decided to play around with the touch pad locks on their car and managed to engage the anti-theft features, which locked the steering wheel, the brakes, the hood, etc….so I loaded Mom and the groceries into my car and left Dad there to wait for AAA to tow their car to a dealership to have it fixed / unlocked) I drove to Mom and Dad‘s place and painted the doors that we will be hanging tonight.  We are also staying for supper.  Hey, free food…I don’t have to cook or clean up…so I am all about that!  And Mom is very happy.  She got her new dishwasher installed last night.  It has almost every bell and whistle available on it.  It is the simple things that make us happy!

So I am hoping for a quiet day….no drama…. 

Be sure to stop over at Veggietale to see about the garden….

banner

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. Helene says:

    We have no plans for Easter this year, which is fine by me! I threw an Easter party last weekend at our house (15 adults, 25 kids)….so I’m all Easter’d out! Sounds like you have a yummy menu planned!

  2. Amy says:

    Easter dinner is just never as exciting as Christmas dinner, is it? Besides, the chocolate is so much yummier than ham! hahaha! 🙂

    btw, I had to laugh at your comment about my big baby ~ I didn’t feel a thing!! And only pushed for 45 minutes! LOVE epidurals! And my other two were born early so they were much smaller ~ they practically flew out! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    Did you smack Mom and Dad on the hands and tell them to quit playing with the electronics?

  4. soralis says:

    We aren’t sure what we are doing for easter yet, so far just going out for brunch!

    I love Rescue Me, but it’s not carried on to many stations here so I haven’t been able to keep up!

    Take Care

Leave a Reply

