The kids slept through the night.  Without a middle of the night bottle.  I am so proud of them.  And I think I know what did it.  They have full run of Grandma and Grandpa‘s house.  They are expending tons of energy.  And yesterday, They only each got a cat nap.

They are in baby jail right now, and they are “lounging”. I think they are still tired. (tee hee hee).

I spent the day at my parent’s house yesterday.  The kitchen remodeler was here.  I sure wish they would have told me that they were taking out my kitchen sinkon the first day.    have planned things a little differently.  So, I will be using plastic or paper cups since I really don’t want to wash dishes in the bathtub.  I will take the kids’ bottles to my parent’s house and run them through the dishwasher.  I also do not have any counter tops, or drawers, or doors on my cabinets.  The kitchen just looks weird…..

The hubby has decided to stay out in North Dakota until Friday.  My father in law is still hanging in there.  They had him on some kind of “CPAP” thing and had him intubated.  They took him off of that yesterday and the old man sat up out of bed.  He is just on oxygenthrough a nasal cannula right now.  He keeps stretching his arms out for hugs.  He pointed right at the hubby so at least there is some degree of recognition and appropriate response.  The doctors still don’t know what is going on.  They want to watch him for another day or two, and then they will see how he is doing.

The best part of all of this, if there is a positive, is that the hubby is seeing family that he hasn’t seen in 20 years.  He reconnecting with a family that he pretty much walked away from.  He is the only one that made it out.  Everyone else stayed.  And there is nothing wrong with that, I guess.   I just can’t imagine having the whole world out there, and staying in Fargo my entire life.  I have been blessed that I was able to travel when I was young, and then as part of a job, and on my own as a hobby.  I have been to the UK, Mexico, and Canada.  I have been to 49 of the 50 states.  I have been there and done that and I have no regrets.

But I miss my hubby.  I didn’t sleep well at all the last two nights.  I might even miss his snoring.  It is just not the same when he isn’t around.  He did call me about a dozen times yesterday….I can’t wait to pick him up at the airport and give him the biggest hug.  I feel very helpless right now when it comes to finding ways to support him.

I am hanging in there.  All the prayers and well wishes are greatly appreciated.

Oh…. and here are some pictures of the kitchen so far…..

banner

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. pillarr1 says:

    I am glad to hear that your father in law is doing better. It must feel good for your husband to see relatives that he has not seen in a long while. The kitchen looks like it is going great! Those are the same cabinet doors that my parents have in their house in Indianapolis! Too funny.

    It is cool that the kids are sleeping all night. It is wonderful!! I noticed that Rachel began sleeping better when she started crawling. When she began walking (at 14 months) she consistently sleeps all night for at least 12 hours. The only reason that she wakes up is if something in her routine has changed, like when we were out of town, her grandmother was here, or when she had a cold that caused lots of coughing. Otherwise, she goes to sleep at 7 pm, or sooner and wakes up between 7:15 – 8 am. Tell them to keep up the good work and get lots of exercise to make them tired!

  2. singletracey says:

    Oh I cant wait to see how everything turns out. My kitchen is in need of a makeover…. but right now., it aint happening…

    Glad hubby is reconnecting with family…. 🙂 Prayers and thoughts sent for all of you …

  3. Amy says:

    haven’t popped over here in a week or so. hope your father-in-law continues to get better and your hubby has a safe trip home. can’t wait to see your finished kitchen~how exciting!!! 🙂 hope you are well…

Leave a Reply

