So we have finally done it.

We got rid of the phone company.

We got a Magic Jack.  $40 and it includes unlimited local and long distance, call waiting, caller ID, and voice mail.  I am sure you have seen the commercials on tv.

Of course, the only drawback is that if there is a power failure (which is rare in these parts) we would have to use our cell phones.  Oh darn. 

So far, so good.  We had to lose our old phone number, but that means that there will be less “fund raising” and unwanted telemarketers calling.  Of course, this also means that the hubby has to remember a new number.  He can’t even remember his own cell phone number.  I, on the other hand, can remember the majority of all the phone numbers I have ever had…going back to the 70’s. 832-6135 was my first phone number, 233-6755 was the second, 263-7197 was the third, etc etc….I have always been able to memorize numbers. My SSN, the hubby’s SSN, my sister’s SSN, both kids SSN.  Don’t ask me to do algebra, but I will rattle off stock numbers for agfa film from when I worked for Ritz Camera.  I’m a dork!

We also “splurged” a little. Since most of the good shows that we like come on later at night, and we are pretty much wiped out by the kids by 9 pm, we got the DVR package so we can record shows.  As a matter of fact, I can record them downstairs and watch them in bed, so as not to disturb the hubby when he is watching Fox News, or the Military Channel, or Patton 360.

And since we ditched the phone service, we are actually saving money. 

In other news, the kids slept all night again.  They slept through a doozey of a thunderstorm and let me sleep in until….9 AM!  Yes, you read that right!  9 FRIGGIN AM!  I am taking a day off from the gym as both my upper and lower body are telling me that they have had enough for a day or so.  Going back to the gym has made me feel so great.  I keep begging the hubby, but so far…no luck.  I haven’t given up on him yet.

We are going to attempt to install insulation at my parent’s house tonight.  This should be a real adventure as I am so looking forward to lifting bales of insulation over my head while chasing the kids.

Anyhoo!  I need to check facebook (am soooo addicted).

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. singletracey says:

    OK.. I was TOTALLY going to try this but I didn’t know anyone who used it!! On FB I put up a status asking if anyone had used it and no one responded so I thought.. hmmmm maybe it isn’t good. i just need a land line to call 911 or for emergency (like cell phone is dead) calling….

Leave a Reply

